Armagh GAA Awards Night

Underage Referee of the Year: Martin Hatzer

Hurling Referee of the Year: Leon Reynolds

Football Referee of the Year: Jake Magill

Jake Magill of O’Hanlon’s Poyntzpass received the ultimate award for a referee when he was chosen to be the man in the middle in this year’s Senior Championship Final between Ballymacnab and Crossmaglen and earned the Football Referee of the Year award. Picking up the underage Referee of the Year was Culloville’s Martin Hatzer while Leon Reynolds of St Malachy’s Portadown earned the Hurling Referee of the Year award.

Volunteer of the Year: Malachy Heaney

Malachy Heaney of the Maghery club received the Volunteer of the Year award after years of service, providing assistance and stewarding around the Athletic Grounds.

Junior Hurler of the Year: Danny Magee

Senior Hurler of the Year: Paudie Lappin

Both these players added to their championship medals which they picked up during the summer with Player of the Year awards. Danny Magee was incredible in leading Sean Treacy’s to Junior Championship glory, recording 1-12 of his side’s 1-15 as they overcame Cuchulainns in the final while Paudie Lappin was also in heroic form as Middletown claimed the Senior Championship with a 2-17 to 1-13 victory over Keady.

Junior Footballer of the Year: Conor McNally

Intermediate Footballer of the Year: Miceal McKenna

Senior Footballer of the Year: Rian O’Neill

Derrynoose may have just fallen short in their quest for Junior Championship glory but no fault could come the way of Conor McNally who was in sensational form all year and hit eight points for his team in the final. Miceal McKenna likewise was the main driving force behind a fantastic year for the Intermediate Champions Grange and was often the one to step up and hit crucial scores when his side needed him. Rian O’Neill collected his third All-Star in a row and was a dominant figure in the middle of the field for Crossmaglen throughout the 2019 championship.

County Hurler of the Year: Dean Gaffney

Although Armagh Hurlers fell at the final hurdle, Dean Gaffney stood tall all year long in taking his men to Croke Park. The free taker was usually top scorer every day he played and his accuracy in front of the posts saw him the stand out player in the orange and white this year. Receiving an Achievement Award was Simon Doherty who made the PwC Champions 15 All-Star team after a great year in nets for Armagh.

County Footballer of the Year: Rian O’Neill

The County Footballer of the Year was never in doubt and Rian O’Neill could make this award his own for the next few years. His two goals against Monaghan in Clones will live long in the memory for Armagh and the Crossmaglen attacker really added to an awesome Armagh forward line in his debut season.

Scor Club of the Year: Carrickcruppen

Underage Club of the Year: Clan na Gael

Club of the Year: Crossmaglen

Carrickcruppen picked up the Scor Club of the Year award while Clan na Gael’s heroic run to the under 16 Ulster Final saw them earn the Underage Club of the Year. Crossmaglen captured a history 45th Armagh title and gained the Club of the year accolade.

Chairman’s Award: Charlie Vernon

After 14 years Charlie Vernon stepped away from the inter-county scene and was rewarded with the Chairman’s Award for his years of dedicated service. The Armagh Manager Kieran McGeeney presented the award to Vernon and hailed the influence the Armagh Harps man had on the county panel.

Team of the Year:

  1. Niall Brady (Collegeland)
  2. Ciaran Connelly (Ballymacnab)
  3. Pauric McGeary (Collegeland)
  4. Sean Og Irwin (Cullyhanna)
  5. Michael Beagan (Ballymacnab)
  6. Callum Cumiskey (Crossmaglen)
  7. Paul Hughes (Crossmaglen)
  8. Diarmuid Rafferty (Grange)
  9. Rian O’Neill (Crossmaglen)
  10. Miceal McKenna (Grange)
  11. Oisin O’Neill (Crossmaglen)
  12. Paul O’Rourke (Shane O’Neill’s)
  13. Conor McNally (Derrynoose)
  14. Jack Grugan (Ballymacnab)
  15. Cian McConville (Crossmaglen)