Armagh Camogie Highlights 2019

2019 was a big and successful year for Armagh Camogie. Our U16s won their first Ulster title in 30 years when they shocked defending champions Derry in Granemore.

They maintained their early lead throughout the game and were crowd deserving winners of their first title since completing three-in-a-row back in 1989.

Crossmaglens Aislinn McMahon received her second College’s All Star for Sacred Heart GS, Holly Murtagh from St Brigid’s CC Armagh won joint 3rd in National Feilie while Katie Comiskey, Anita McKearney, Eabha Lennon represented Armagh in the U17 Interprovincial Competition in Dublin.

St Endas Derrymacash, Port Mor and Granemore u12 teams traveled to Croke Park to compete in Caman to Croker on Easter Monday.

A record breaking 67 girls partook in the U14 Development Squad. This summer, Armagh Camogie ran 3 very successful Summer Schemes in North, Mid & South Armagh with a record number of attendees.

U14 A and U15 Armagh Panels reached their respective All-Ireland finals.

At Club Level, Ballymacnab defeated Madden in the Armagh Senior Final and Banagher in the Ulster Junior Championship.

Port Mor defeated St Enda’s Derrymacash in the Armagh Intermediate Final, however they were narrowly defeated by Clontribet in Bridie McMenamin Semi Final.

Culloville won the Armagh Junior Championship against Kileavy and were defeated by Lavey in the Bridie McMenamin Shield Semi-Final.

Keady, Granemore, Cullyhanna, Kileavy & Aghagallon competed in the Kilmacuds 7s. Katie Doyle (U16) from Granemore and Louise Toner (Senior) from Ballymacnab won the Puc Fada.

The Marion McStay Blitz continues to be a big event in the U14 calendar with teams traveling from all over Ulster. Down A won Division 1 Antrim B won Division 2 Tyrone A won Division 3 Donegal won Division 4. Crossmaglen won the Armagh Fiele Cup, Mullaghbawn won the shield.

Armagh Camogie was deeply saddened at the passing of the great Gael, Tom Monaghan, in November. Tom played a significant role in Armagh Camogie having been Chair of the County Board for a number of years in the 80s and 90s. An exceptional hurler himself, Tom’s love of the game lived on through his years of coaching.

County Secretary, Mary McBride won County Personality of the Year & Yvonne Morgan, Vice – Chairperson won the President’s Award at the 2019 County Dinner Dance.

The 2019 Ulster Camogie Awards Lunch saw Mary McBride from Derrynoose win Administrator of the Year. Shane Hughes from Ballymacnab win Emerging Referee of the Year. Michelle McArdle from Ballymacnab win Junior Club Player of the Year. Katie Comiskey from Port Mor win Ulster U16 Player.

Our President Marian McStay received a special recognition award for camogie at the 2019 Ulster GAA Presidents Awards.

Happy New Year to all our members, players, committees, supporters and sponsors. Here’s to a great 2020!