Recent History

Armagh and Donegal clash this weekend in the 2020 Ulster Championship semi-final with both sides hoping to book their place in the decider.

These counties haven’t crossed paths since the opening round of the 2015 Ulster campaign and Saturday will be their 28th championship meeting.

The first encounter came way back in 1927 when Armagh secured their first of 15 wins over Donegal, 1-5 to 0-4.

The Tir Chonaill men had to wait 13 years to get one over Armagh, with their maiden win coming in a 0-6 to 0-5 victory in 1940.

Of the 27 times the teams have met, ten of them have been since the turn of the millennium, with Armagh gaining victory in six of the outings, with one draw.

Two of Donegal’s three wins in that time have come in the last two meetings between the sides, back to back games in 2014 and 2015.

We take a look at the last five championship matches the sides have shared, Donegal just taking the edge with three wins from the five.

Watch our podcast as we pick a combined 15 made up of the Armagh and Donegal squads!!

2006: Armagh 1-9 Donegal 0-9 (Ulster Final)

An unforgettable day for Armagh. Their victory over Donegal secured Joe Kernan’s men a historic three in a row Ulster titles.

It all started with a 3-15 to 0-11 win over the Tir Chonaill men in 2004, but Armagh faced a tough task two years later.

Oisin McConville got on the scoresheet early and became the highest scorer in the Ulster Championship with a pointed free.

Paul McGrane grabbed the all-important goal as Armagh saw out a three-point win to continue their domination of the Anglo Cent Cup.

2007: Donegal 1-9 Armagh 1-8 (Ulster Quarter Final)

One year later came not only a day to forget but a season that appeared to put an end to Armagh’s golden years.

Donegal finally got one over their Ulster rivals with the latest of finishes and it was Kevin Cassidy who turned out to be the hero.

Oisin McConville had netted earlier on to give Armagh some breathing space in Ballybofey but they couldn’t hold on to their lead.

A long, high ball into the square from Brendan Devenney was met by Cassidy who punched home the winning score and knocked Armagh out of the Ulster Championship.

Joe Kernan would step down after Derry defeated his side in the back door while Kieran McGeeney also departed the scene at the same time.

2010: Armagh 2-14 Donegal 0-11 (Qualifiers Round One)

Jamie Clarke had burst onto the scene with a debut goal against Derry in the opening round of the championship.

After falling to Monaghan in the semi-final, Armagh welcomed Donegal to Crossmaglen for the first round of the qualifiers.

Clarke put on a show and led the Donegal defence a merry dance as he slotted home two goals and two points to help Armagh go through comfortably.

This would be a turning point in the history of Donegal football, as Jim McGuinness was handed the reigns for the following season.

2014: Donegal 1-12 Armagh 1-11 (All-Ireland Quarter Final)

A much different Donegal side faced Armagh in 2014. They achieved the ultimate prize in 2012 and were after earning their third Ulster title in four years.

Armagh seemed to have reached a turning point in their redevelopment phase, reaching the quarter finals for the first time since 2008.

Stefan Campbell’s late goal suggested an upset was on the cards, but Armagh couldn’t hold on to their slender advantage.

Scores from Michael Murphy and Patrick McBrearty saw Donegal through by the minimum of margins and they would go on to reach the All-Ireland final.

2015: Donegal 2-11 Armagh 0-8 (Ulster Quarter Final)

A repeat of the 2014 All-Ireland quarter final, this game bore no resemblance to the match played one season prior.

Kieran McGeeney was now in charge of the Orchard County, but Geezer and home advantage couldn’t halt Donegal.

The Tir Chonaill men were on fire under new manager Rory Gallagher and Patrick McBrearty started the onslaught with an early goal.

Martin O’Reilly matched McBrearty’s effort in the second half as Donegal ran out easy winners in the end.

Listen to our podcast as we pick a combined 15 made up of the Armagh and Donegal squads!!