Orchard name team for championship opener

It’s the first round of the LGFA Ulster Championship this evening and Armagh have named a strong line up to take the field.

The Orchard County are out to defend their Ulster crown, having defeated Monaghan in the showpiece last year.

The sides have clashed more recently with the Farney side earning a one-point victory in their league meeting three weeks ago.

Several of the players that helped Armagh reach provincial success in 2020 will play a huge part this evening in retaining their reign.

Photo Credit: Brendan Monaghan

Anna Carr is a nailed on starter for Ronan Murphy’s side, having started all ten of her sides games last year and all three so far this season.

Clodagh McCambridge is one of the best in the business at full back and her match-up with Ellen McCarron could be crucial.

She will be ably assisted by the experienced Sarah Marley along with Ballyhegan’s Grace Ferguson in the last line of defence.

Eve Lavery and Tiarna Grimes will bomb forward from the half back line with Crossmaglen’s Lauren McConville holding the centre.

Photo Credit: Brendan Monaghan

Niamh Marley last played in the orange and white against Meath in last year’s league campaign but has returned to the squad this year.

The Lissummon star partners Niamh Coleman at midfield while Aveen Bellew will help out in this area from centre half forward.

Blaithin Mackin and Fionnuala McKenna make up the half forward line and have the potential to cause serious problems for any defence.

The inside forward line is likely to strike fear into the Farney rear-guard as all three attackers offer serious goal threats.

Photo Credit: Brendan Monaghan

Aimee Mackin is the star of the show for the Orchard County and top scored during the league with 2-18.

Aoife McCoy has a keen eye for goal having hit the net in that league clash with Monaghan, while Alex Clarke gets her first start in the Ulster Championship.

There are some big omissions from the released team, as Kelly Mallon, Caroline O’Hanlon and Shauna Grey are all named on the bench.