Magee’s magic hands hurlers semi spot

Armagh 7-25 Leitrim 1-21

Five Danny Magee goals helped Armagh ease into the last four of the Nicky Rackard Cup. It wasn’t all one-way traffic, as Leitrim put up a terrific fight in the first half.

The Sean Treacy’s sharpshooter bagged two majors just before the interval and Armagh ran riot after the restart.

Paddy McBride and substitute Peter McKearney also hit the net in a dominant second half performance.

Fionntan Donnelly and Jim Short opened Armagh’s account before Leitrim hit back with their first through Ben Murray.

Photo Credit: Richiepics

Donnelly smashed over his second from the dead ball while Murray doubled his personal tally.

Tiarnan O’Neill, Eoin McGuinness and Danny Magee slotted over scores to put Armagh four points ahead after ten minutes.

The Connaught side responded with a Gavin O’Hagan effort, which was soon cancelled out by Stephen McKearney.

Armagh were reduced to 14 men when Eoin McGuinness saw red just before the water break. The Orchardmen ahead 0-7 to 0-3.

Photo Credit: Richiepics

Leitrim rattled the net for the game’s first goal twenty minutes in and tied the game. That’s as close as the westerners got.

Odhran Curry (2), Marty Moan, Fionntan Donnelly (3) and Tiarnan O’Neill all split the posts before they raised their first green flag.

A long ball forward from centre half back Artie McGuinness found its way to Danny Magee, who flicked it to the back of the net.

Magee grabbed his second moments later while Donnelly popped over another score to leave Armagh 2-15 to 1-8 ahead at the break.

Photo Credit: Richiespics

The pair continued to torment the defence while Magee claimed his third and fourth goals of the game.

Paddy McBride rattled the net just before the water break and Magee did likewise in the 21st minute.

Peter McKearney got in on the goal-scoring action with his first of the season, becoming Armagh’s 10th scorer of the day.

Armagh now find themselves in the last four of the Nicky Rackard Cup. They once again face western opposition as they meet Mayo with a spot in the showpiece up for grabs.

Armagh Scorers: Danny Magee 5-2, Fionntan Donnelly 0-8, Paddy McBride 1-2, Peter McKearney 1-2, Tiarnan O’Neill 0-3, Odhran Curry 0-3, Jim Short 0-2, Eoin McGuinness 0-1, Stephen McKearney 0-1, Marty Moan 0-1.