Batting Belleek bow out of Ulster

Belleek 1-11 Sean McDermott’s 0-16

Belleek ended a 20 year wait to final grasp the Sean Quinn Cup with a super win over Crossmaglen IIs in the Junior showpiece.

The Lawrence O’Toole’s club headed to Crossmaglen on Sunday to begin their Ulster campaign. Unfortunately, it ended in a two-point defeat.

They face Monaghan champions Sean McDermott’s, who had already defeated Cookstown in the preliminary round.

Photo Credit: John Merry

The visitors made the brighter start with two scores, but Belleek soon levelled through James McParland and the dangerous Callum O’Neill.

A brace from O’Neill sent his side ahead before Sean McDermott’s replied with a double of their own.

Sean McCreesh (free) and O’Neill (mark) nudged the Armagh winners ahead once again just after the water break.

Photo Credit: John Merry

Conor McKevitt split two Sean McDermott’s points as both teams picked up black cards before the interval.

Belleek headed into the break with a single point to spare, leading 0-7 to 0-6.

The Monaghan champions made a fantastic start to the second period, rattling off the first five scores.

Photo Credit: John Merry

Callum O’Neill halted the scoring spree with a score with Belleek trailing 0-8 to 0-11 at the water break.

O’Neill exchanged scores with the opposition, as did Shane Quinn with three-points the margin in addition time.

James McParland offered his side a lifeline. His 34th minute goal kept his side in touch, but two points either side of the three-pointer from Sean McDermott’s kept them ahead.

Photo Credit: Sinead Snaps

Sean McCreesh struck the final score of the game as Belleek continued to battle right to the very end.

It wasn’t enough however, and they exited the Ulster Championship at the quarter final stage.

While Garreth Thornton’s men will be disappointed, they’ve enjoyed a historic year for their club and will look to build on that in next seasons Intermediate league.

Belleek Scorers: Callum O’Neill 0-6 (1m), James McParland 1-1, Sean McCreesh 0-2 (1f), Conor McKevitt 0-1, Shane Quinn 0-1.

Photo Credit: John Merry