Armagh students to strut their stuff in Sigerson Cup

The Sigerson Cup kicks off in the New Year, and the Universities learned their fate after yesterday’s draw.

Several players from the Orchard County are likely to see game time for QUB, UUJ and St Mary’s.

St Mary’s

The Ranch boast the best Armagh representation with ten in total. Cian McConville (Crossmaglen) will hope to follow in his cousins, Oisin O’Neill, footsteps and pick up a Sigerson medal with the student teachers.

Cian McConville will be part of St Mary's Sigerson panel
Photo Credit: John Merry

Clann Eireann midfielder Conor McConville will also feature along with Armagh Harps sharpshooter Tom O’Kane.

Silverbridge duo Sean Rock and Conall Burns have been named as well as with Granemore’s Jim Short and Louis Hughes.

Others included are Cormac Smyth (Mullaghbawn), Sean McAlinden (Sarsfields), Shane Donnelly (Collegeland) and Adam Henderson (Clan na Gael).

They face TU Dublin in the opening round. The Dublin Uni has the likes of Monaghan’s Eoin Duffy, Cavan’s Evan Fortune and Dublin wonderkid Ciaran Archer in their squad.

Silverbridge sharpshooter Sean Rock is part of St Mary's Sigerson squad
Photo Credit: Sinead Snaps


The Queen’s panel features eight from the Orchard County and they have earned a bye in the first round.

County champions Clann Eireann have four players included, with Eoghan Mulholland, Sean McCarthy, Tiernan Kelly and Conor Turbitt all named.

Maghery midfielder Ben Crealey and Ballymacnab’s Kieran Hughes will hope to see game time. Calum O’Hare (Killeavy) and Mark Lyttle (Clonmore) are also included in the QUB squad.

Ben Crealey will team up with the QUB Sigerson squad


Only one Armagh player features in UUJ’s Sigerson squad list. Clann Eireann star Barry McCambridge is the sole representative from the Orchard County.

They’ll meet NUIG in the opening round. Galway men Cathal Sweeney and Sean Mulkerrin will man their defence.

Fionn McDonagh and Tommy Conroy of Mayo along with Donegal’s Jamie Brennan are the dangermen up front.

Barry McCambridge is the only Armagh player on the UUJ Sigerson team
Photo Credit: John Merry

The full Sigerson Cup draw is as follows:

IT Carlow vs LYIT

IT Sligo vs UL

TU Dublin vs St Mary’s Belfast

Maynooth University vs DCU

Queen’s BYE


MTU Cork vs UCC

MTU Kerry vs UCD