Huge win for Armagh hurlers

Monaghan 0-13 Armagh 4-22

The Armagh hurlers continued their winning start to the season with a huge victory over Monaghan at the weekend.

Padraig O’Connor’s men were 21 points ahead of their opponents by the time the final whistle sounded.

It was a slow start from the Orchard, but three goals after the interval ensured, they travelled home with the two points secured.

Early scores from Cormac McNally and Niall Garland put Monaghan ahead after six minutes of play.

The Armagh hurlers sit top of division 3A with two wins from two

Nathan Curry (65) and Danny Magee shot back for Armagh while Paddy McBride traded scores with Conor Gernon.

Armagh began to find their form, kick started by an Odhran Curry score on the 15th minute mark.

Dean Gaffney (3), Eoin McGuinness and Nathan Curry (65) all scored before Gaffney slotted home the game’s opening goal.

Monaghan hit back with three in a row before Ryan Gaffney halted their momentum with his first.

Dean Gaffney (free) and Nathan Curry grabbed the final scores of the half with Armagh 1-12 to 0-7 ahead.

Thanks to Danann Crafts for sponsoring our coverage of the game!
Thanks to Danann Crafts for sponsoring our coverage of the game! Check out their website by clicking on the image!

Armagh started where they left off, claiming the first eight scores of the second period, including an Eoin McGuinness goal.

Odhran Curry, Magee (2), Dean Gaffney (three frees) and Ryan Gaffney all raised white flags while McGuinness’ goal shot his side 18 points up.

Ryan Gaffney then hit the net for Armagh’s third while Fionntan Donnelly got his name on the scoresheet after coming in.

Tiarnan O’Neill did likewise, grabbing Armagh’s fourth and final goal. Shaun Toal and Dean Gaffney (65) added on scores before the final whistle sounded.

Armagh Team: Simon Doherty, Caolan Rice, Paddy Quinn, Jim Short, Stephen Renaghan, Shea Gaffney, Tiarnan Nevin, Paddy McBride 0-1, Odhran Curry 0-2, Ryan Gaffney 1-2, Nathan Curry 0-3 (2f), Dean Gaffney 1-8 (7f), Shaun Toal 0-1, Eoin McGuinness 1-1, Danny Magee 0-3. Subs: Connor Renaghan for J. Short, Fionntan Donnelly 0-1 for E. McGuinness, Shea Harvey for D. Magee, Niall Lennon for O. Curry, Tiarnan O’Neill 1-0 for N. Curry.