Recent History – Armagh vs Mayo

It’s ten years since the green and red of Mayo mixed with the orange and white of the Orchard County in league football.

Armagh suffered relegation that season, in 2012, but are back among the big hitter now.

The game took place in the newly developed Athletic Grounds, while this weekend both sides travel to Dr Hyde Park.

2019 was the most recent clash between the two counties and they played out a thrilling contest in Castlebar.

Armagh take on Mayo this weekend
Photo Credit: John Merry

2019: Mayo 2-13 Armagh 1-15 (Qualifiers R3)

One that got away from an Armagh point of view. Had there been another minute left in the game, they may have got over the line.

It’s all ifs buts and maybes, but Armagh showed that day that they can compete with the best.

Rian O’Neill hit the net during the opening period, but Geezer’s side were left to rue some missed chances. Both Jamie Clarke and Rory Grugan had opportunities to hit the net.

Fionn McDonagh and substitute Kevin McLoughlin raised green flags for the hosts as they edged through by one-point.

Aidan Forker in action against Mayo in 2019
Photo Credit: John Merry

2012: Armagh 0-11 Mayo 1-14 (NFL R3)

A home draw against Cork and an away victory over Kerry got Armagh’s league campaign off to a flyer.

It all came tumbling down in round three however as Mayo proved too strong and left the Athletic Grounds with maximum points.

Alan Freeman (0-5), Enda Varley (0-4) and Conor Mortimer (0-4) done the majority of the scoring while Andy Moran hit the game’s only goal.

Armagh only had four scorers on the night. Aidan Forker (0-6), Brian Mallon (0-2), Colm Watters (0-2) and Gavin McParland (0-1) all got on the scoresheet.

2011: Mayo 1-10 Armagh 2-10 (NFL R4)

Billy Joe Padden traded the Mayo jersey to line out for Paddy O’Rourke’s men, and helped claim a three-point win.

Brian Mallon and Paul Duffy both struck goals as Armagh earned their second, and final, win of the league campaign.

Steven McDonnell was on top form, and he nailed 0-6 (4f) while Jason Doherty claimed the home sides three-pointer.

Only Rory Grugan, who came on as a sub that day, has featured for Armagh so far through the 2022 league.

Rory Grugan played against Mayo in 2011
Photo Credit: Richiepics

2005: Armagh 0-19 Mayo 0-14 (NFL Semi Final)

Armagh defeated the Westerners in Croke Park on their way to securing their first and to date only Division One title.

Kieran McGeeney gave a commanding performance at centre half back and put the shackles on Mayo dangerman Ciaran McDonald.

Steven McDonnell (0-6) and Oisin McConville (0-5) held most of the scoring burden while Alan Dillon (0-4) top scored for Mayo.

This was Armagh’s seventh win on the trot. They would go on to extend their unbeaten run to 15 games. Ending in the All-Ireland semi-final against Tyrone.