Mayo ruin Armagh’s unbeaten run

Mayo 0-15 Armagh 1-10

Mayo ruined Armagh’s unbeaten run on Sunday afternoon, coming good in the second period to kick the final five scores of the game.

Following on from their convincing win over the Dubs, James Horan’s men were flying high in confidence.

Armagh led for large chunks of the game, thanks mainly to a speculative early goal from Ciaran Mackin.

After capturing the throw in, the Shane O’Neill’s youngster sped forward to support Rian O’Neill.

Mayo ruined Armagh's unbeaten run on Sunday afternoon
Photo Credit: John Merry

Mackin’s left footed effort dropped short and caught out Rory Byrne, a late replacement in the Mayo goal.

That kickstarted a dream start for the Orchard County, who sprang into a 1-3 to 0-1 lead by the 10th minute.

Ryan O’Donoghue, Mayo’s top scorer, recorded their opener while Stefan Campbell, Jason Duffy and Rory Grugan pointed for the visitors.

Mayo controlled the following ten minutes and four points on the trot saw the major dwindle to one.

Thanks to Clonmore for sponsoring our preview! Check out how to enter by clicking the image!!

O’Donoghue nailed a brace while Matthew Ruane and Diarmuid O’Connor also raised white flags.

Rian O’Neill fired over two monster efforts, split by an O’Donoghue free, to give Armagh a 0-6 to 1-5 lead at the interval.

Kieran McGeeney’s men were a man down for the start of the second period, as Mackin picked up a black card.

Experienced heads

Mayo rang the changes and some of their most experienced heads entered the fray. Kevin McLoughlin, Paddy Durcan, Aidan O’Shea and Padraig O’Hora were all introduced.

The Westerners were level by the 40th minute, with newbie Aidan Orme and O’Connor slotting over scores.

Mayo ruined Armagh's unbeaten run on Sunday afternoon
Photo Credit: John Merry

Armagh edged ahead once again through a Grugan free and a point from super sub Conor Turbitt.

O’Donoghue and O’Neill traded points, before McLoughlin narrowed the gap to just one as the game entered the final ten minutes.

Two Aidan Nugent efforts pointed to an Armagh win by Mayo kept reeling them in. Horan’s side still had a big say and began to run the show in the final moments.

Mayo recorded the final five scores to grab the two points on offer. An O’Donoghue double along with Paddy Durcan’s first tied the game.

Jordan Flynn got in on the scoring act while Durcan claimed the insurance point, seven minutes into addition time.

Armagh’s unbeaten run is over, but they remain at the top end of the division one table, sitting in third position.

Armagh: Ethan Rafferty, Paddy Burns, Aidan Forker, Aaron McKay, Connaire Mackin, Niall Rowland, Jarly Og Burns, Ciaran Mackin 1-0, Ben Crealey, Stefan Campbell 0-1, Rory Grugan 0-2 (1f), Tiernan Kelly, Jason Duffy 0-1, Rian O’Neill 0-3 (2f), Aidan Nugent 0-1. Subs: Conor Turbitt 0-1 for J. Duffy, James Morgan for A. McKay, Stephen Sheridan for B. Crealey, Oisin O’Neill for N. Rowland, Conor O’Neill for A. Forker.

Mayo: Rory Byrne, Lee Keegan, Rory Brickenden, Michael Plunkett, Oisin Mullin, Stephen Coen, Sam Callinan, Jordan Flynn 0-1, Matthew Ruane 0-1, Fionn McDonagh, Diarmuid O’Connor 0-2, Conor Loftus, Aidan Orme 0-1 (1m), Frank Irwin, Ryan O’Donoghue 0-7 (6f). Subs: Kevin McLoughlin 0-1 for F. Irwin, Paddy Durcan 0-2 for R. Brickenden, Padraig O’Hora for S. Callinan, Aidan O’Shea for C. Loftus, Jack Carney for F. McDonagh, Fergal Boland for K. McLoughlin.