Donegal dump out Orchard

Donegal 1-13 Armagh 0-9

Armagh were dumped out of the Ulster under 20 Championship last night by Donegal in a cold and wet Ballybofey.

The opening exchanges were fairly even, with both teams missing chances, but Donegal held the majority of possession.

The home team opened their account with a goal after eight minutes and that put them in control.

A long ball into Bobby McGettigan and a swift hand pass to Luke McGlynn resulted in the first score.

Donegal pushed on from that. Johnny McGroddy nailed four points (2f) and Keelan Dunleavy also split the posts.

The Orchard finally got off the mark, through a Ronan Fitzpatrick free after Darragh McMullen was upended.

Eoin Dowling and McGroddy raised white flags to put the home side 1-7 to 0-1 up at the interval.

Donegal dumped out the Armagh under 20s last night
Photo Credit: Sinead Snaps

Armagh grinded out a comeback of sorts in the second half and dominated the third quarter, but the gap was too big to close.

They got the margin back to five at one stage, but that was as close as Barry O’Hagan’s side got.

Three Ronan Fitzpatrick frees, and a Shea Magill 45 got Armagh off to a great start after the turnaround.

Donegal claimed two scores of their own, but Armagh kept fighting. Caolan Finnegan and Dan McCarthy narrowed the deficit to five.

Donegal dumped out the Armagh under 20s last night
Photo Credit: Sinead Snaps

The Tir Chonaill men began turned the tide and got back on top during the final quarter, hitting four points.

Both Antoin McParland and Luke McKeever made impacts after coming in, hitting a point a piece.

The first half let the Orchard down and although the fought back valiantly, it wasn’t enough to get back into the game.

Armagh: Shea Magill 0-1 (1f), Peter McGrane, Gareth Murphy, Orin McKeown, Oisin O’Hare, Brendan O’Hagan, Redmond French, Thomas Og Duffy, Dara O’Callaghan, Sean Conlon, Ronan Fitzpatrick 0-4 (4f), Dan McCarthy 0-1, Sean Rock, Darragh McMullen, Caolan Finnegan 0-1. Subs: Antoin McParland 0-1 for D. O’Callaghan, James O’Hara for S. Rock, Luke McKeever 0-1 for D. McMullen, Cathal Agnew for O. O’Hare