Armagh crash out of the Ulster Championship

Donegal 1-16 Armagh 0-12

Armagh crashed out of the 2022 Ulster Championship on Sunday, losing to Donegal in Ballybofey by seven points.

There was a real championship buzz prior to the game, with the sun blazing down on the Ballybofey turf.

Paddy McBrearty’s second half goal was the crucial score. Armagh failed to get back in touch after that and couldn’t close the gap.

Armagh could, and should, have at a goal of their own straight from the throw in at the start of the second half.

Armagh crash out of the Ulster Championship

A long ball to the square, launched by Aidan Nugent, was beautifully claimed by Rian O’Neill.

After a goal line scramble, O’Neill punched the ball to the net, but the referee, strangely, pointed for a free out.

Moments later it was Nugent’s turn, but his effort crashed off the legs of Donegal keeper Shaun Patton.

Apart from that third quarter burst from the Orchard, Donegal controlled the majority of the game.

Armagh crash out of the Ulster Championship

Some wayward shooting from the hosts kept Armagh in it as the gap was just three at the half time break.

Donegal dominated the middle third of the field and Armagh really struggled with their own kickouts.

They brought more intensity to the game after the turnaround. Despite Armagh’s terrific start to the second period, it was Donegal who opened the scoring through Shane O’Donnell.

Then came the goal that diminished all hope. McBrearty played a one-two with Caolan Ward and palmed home the three-pointer.

Armagh crash out of the Ulster Championship

Stefan Campbell got his customary score after being introduced. But every time Armagh closed the gap, Donegal responded with a score.

They managed to narrow the margin to five on three occasions, but that’s as close as they got. Greg McCabe earned the final score of the game, but Armagh were out of the championship by that stage

It’s through the backdoor now for Kieran McGeeney’s men. The draw will take place once the provincial finalists are confirmed.

Armagh: Ethan Rafferty, James Morgan, Aidan Forker, Aaron McKay, Niall Grimley, Greg McCabe 0-1, Jarly Og Burns 0-1, Connaire Mackin, Ben Crealey 0-1, Jemar Hall, Rory Grugan 0-5 (3f), Tiernan Kelly 0-1, Conor Turbitt 0-1, Rian O’Neill, Jason Duffy. Subs: Aidan Nugent for J. Duffy, Stefan Campbell 0-1 for J. Hall, Oisin O’Neill 0-1 for C. Mackin, Ross McQuillan for A. Forker.

Donegal: Shaun Patton, Caolan Ward, Brendan McCole, Stephen McMenamin, Ryan McHugh, Eoghan Ban Gallagher 0-1, Peadar Mogan, Hugh McFadden, Jason McGee 0-1, Ciaran Thompson 0-1, Shane O’Donnell 0-1, Michael Langan 0-3, Patrick McBrearty 1-2 (1f), Michael Murphy 0-6 (4f), Jamie Brennan. Subs: Caolan McGonigle for J. McGee, Conor O’Donnell 0-1 for C. Thompson, Niall O’Donnell for H. McFadden, Paul Brennan for S. O’Donnell, Aaron Doherty for J. Brennan.

Armagh crash out of the Ulster Championship