Armagh Camogs crowned Ulster champs

Armagh 0-13 Antrim II 0-6

The Armagh Camogie team were crowned Ulster Intermediate champions for the second year in a row when they beat Antrim on Sunday.

They saw off the Saffrons by seven points to pick up their first bit of silverware of the 2022 season.

The league may not have gone to plan for Armagh. But they’ll now head into the All-Ireland series, which kicks off at the end of the month, full of confidence.

The Orchard were easy winners when these sides clashed at the same stage of the competition last season. Although Sunday’s encounter was much closer.

Jim McKernan’s side opened the scoring through midfielder Leanne Donnelly, but Antrim hit back with three on the trot.

It wasn’t long until Armagh were back on level terms thanks to Corrina Doyle and Jennifer Curry.

Donnelly then struck her second to fire her side in front once again. Ciara Donnelly opened her account with two frees to leave three the difference.

Armagh were crowned Ulster champions on Sunday
Photo Credit: John Merry

The younger of the two Donnelly sisters grabbed a third while joint captain Michelle McArdle fired her side 8-4 ahead at the half time break.

Armagh picked up where they had left off. Ciara Donnelly along with Ciara Hill put six between the teams.

Antrim weren’t done just yet, however. A brace of points reduced the gap with just over ten minutes remaining.

Armagh were crowned Ulster champions on Sunday
Photo Credit: John Merry

Ciara Donnelly split the posts with three more placed ball efforts to secure the title for Armagh, with seven points to spare.

Armagh were still able to claim the Ulster title despite being reduced to 14 players during that second period

Armagh: Ciarrai Devlin, Meabh Lenehan, Nicola Woods, Eimear O’Kane, Gemma McCann, Eimear Hayes, Tierna Maguire, Michelle McArdle, Leanne Donnelly, Ciara Hill, Ciara Donnelly, Ellie McKee, Corinna Doyle, Jennifer Curry, Hannah Duffy. Subs: Rachael Merry for H. Duffy, Caoimhe O’Kane for E. O’Kane, Katie Comiskey for C. Hill, Eimear Smyth for M. Lenehan, Aine Maguire for T. Maguire.