Recent Championship History – Armagh v Tyrone

Sunday will see Armagh and Tyrone share the championship field for the first time since the 2017 All-Ireland quarter final.

The sides have locked horns 11 times in the championship since 2002. Sunday will be the 45th championship meeting.

This year, the teams have already competed against one another in the McKenna Cup and the league.

Armagh have come out on top in both those encounters and will be hoping to make it three in a row in 2022. We take a look at the last four championship clashes between the counties.

2017: Tyrone 3-17 Armagh 0-8 (All-Ireland Quarter Final)

One to forget for Armagh followers, although the wounds opened up that day remain etched in the memory.

The Orchard County looked primed for a return to the big time after a heroic victory over Kildare sent them through to the last eight.

Tyrone proved to be miles ahead however and Peter Harte’s first half penalty opened up an unstoppable gap of 1-5 to 0-1.

David Mulgrew netted twice in the second half for the Red Hands as Rory Grugan top scored with 0-3 for Armagh.

Photo Credit: John Merry

2014: Armagh 0-13 Tyrone 0-10 (Qualifiers Round Two)

The last time Armagh defeated Tyrone in championship action and the fact it was in Omagh made the victory a whole pile sweeter.

The intensity of championship reached boiling point immediately, with a row breaking out before the first whistle sounded.

Mattie Donnelly eventually received his marching orders as Armagh ran out three-point winners in the end.

Tony Kernan top scored with 0-4 while Jamie Clarke hit 0-3. Andy Mallon, Mark Shields, Stephen Harold, Stefan Campbell, Aaron Kernan and Rory Grugan all scored 0-1.

Photo Credit: John Merry

2012: Tyrone 0-19 Armagh 1-13 (USFC Quarter Final)

2012 was the last time the two teams did battle in the Athletic Grounds and Tyrone emerged victorious.

A young Aidan Forker made his championship debut and rattled the net during the opening period.

Jamie Clarke was on fire in the forward line and top scored for his side with 0-6 (2f) while Martin Penrose hit 0-8 (5f) for Tyrone.

The power of All-Ireland winners Conor Gormley, Stephen O’Neill and Owen Mulligan helped Mickey Harte’s men over the line.

Photo Credit: John Merry

2011: Tyrone 2-13 Armagh 0-13 (Qualifiers Round Three)

Goals from Tommy McGuigan and Joe McMahon sealed the deal for the Red Hands in Omagh.

Tyrone ended Armagh’s championship run by six points and had nine different scorers on the day.

Steven McDonnell hit 0-8, including a first half penalty that went flying over the crossbar.

Aaron Kernan, Billy Joe Padden, Malachy Mackin and Michael O’Rourke also raised white flags for Armagh.