Armagh oust All-Ireland champions

Armagh 1-16 Tyrone 1-10

Armagh comprehensively overcame All-Ireland champions Tyrone with an all-action display in the Athletic Grounds.

A sea of orange and white flooded on to the field at the final whistle as the Orchard celebrated a significant win.

After their flat performance against Donegal, Kieran McGeeney’s men were out to prove and point.

Tyrone were shockingly tame and offered little resistance to Armagh’s quality display. They did make the better start to the game.

Armagh comprehensively overcame All-Ireland champions Tyrone.
Photo Credit: John Merry

Conor McKenna drove home a goal after pouncing on the ball following an Ethan Rafferty save.

But Armagh responded emphatically and the man between the sticks deserves special mention.

Star Performers

Rafferty, playing just his 6th game with the number one on his back, marched forward on two occasions to split the posts.

Stefan Campbell was another outstanding performer. The likes of Ben Crealey and Greg McCabe also starred throughout.

Armagh comprehensively overcame All-Ireland champions Tyrone.
Photo Credit: John Merry

Nine different players got on the scoresheet, including second half substitutes Conor Turbitt and Andrew Murnin.

Armagh played with a killer instinct, showed by Aidan Nugent’s well taken first half goal.

They should have racked up a bigger deficit at the break as they were much better than the one-point gap suggests.

Rian O’Neill (3), Rory Grugan, Rafferty and Campbell opened up a six-point lead midway through the second half.

Tyrone never looked like getting the goal they badly craved. Even with the introduction of Darragh Canavan and u20 All-Ireland winner Michael McGleenan.

Armagh comprehensively overcame All-Ireland champions Tyrone.
Photo Credit: John Merry

With the addition of ten extra minutes, following a nasty knock to Connaire Mackin who was subsequently stretchered off, Tyrone couldn’t muster up much of a reply.

Murnin claimed the final two scores of the game to erase any doubt and open up a winning six-point margin.

Armagh will now take on Donegal in the next round of the qualifiers will all the details yet to be confirmed

Armagh: Ethan Rafferty 0-2, James Morgan, Aidan Forker, Conor O’Neill 0-1, Aaron McKay, Greg McCabe, Jarly Og Burns, Stephen Sheridan 0-1, Ben Crealey, Rory Grugan 0-1, Stefan Campbell 0-2, Paddy Burns, Aidan Nugent 1-1, Rian O’Neill 0-4 (3f), Jason Duffy 0-1. Subs: Connaire Mackin for P. Burns, Conor Turbitt 0-1 for C. O’Neill, Jemar Hall for J. Duffy, Andrew Murnin 0-2 for A. Nugent, Mark Shields for C. Mackin, Ross McQuillan for S. Sheridan.

Tyrone: Niall Morgan, Peter Teague, Ronan McNamee, Padraig Hampsey, Michael McKernan, Peter Harte 0-1, Rory Brennan, Conn Fitzpatrick 0-1, Frank Burns, Conor Meyler, Michael O’Neill, Niall Sludden, Darren McCurry 0-7 (5f), Matthew Donnelly, Conor McKenna 1-0. Subs: Kieran McGeary for P. Teague, Richard Donnelly 0-1 for N. Sludden, Darragh Canavan for F. Burns, Cathal McShane for M. Donnelly, Michael McGleenan for M. O’Neill.