Championship dates, times and venues confirmed

The dates, times and venues of the Armagh Championship have been confirmed and it all kicks off at the end of August.

The Senior and Junior Championship begin on the same weekend (August 26-28) while the Intermediate starts the following week.

There are plenty of big games to look forward to and teams will soon be turning their attention towards the championship.

Senior Championship

Madden and Grange get the SFC championship underway with the preliminary round. The game will take place in the Athletic Grounds on Saturday 27 of August.

The winners will take on Killeavy two weeks after in Crossmaglen (Saturday 10 September). All the teams begin their championship campaigns that weekend.

Granemore take on Pearse Og in Abbey Park (Friday 9 September). St Patrick’s vs Ballymacnab and Maghery against Harps is an Athletic Grounds double header the following day.

Four games take place on Sunday 11. Sarsfields and Dromintee meet in Pearse Og Park while Clan na Gael take on Carrickcruppen in Ballymacnab.

It’s back to the Athletic Grounds for another double header. Crossmaglen meet Silverbridge in the curtain raiser before Mullaghbawn take on champions Clann Eireann.

The Championship dates, times and venues have been confirmed
Photo Credit: John Merry

Intermediate Championship

The IFC gets underway on Friday 2 September as Tir na nOg meet Wolfe Tones in Davitt Park. Tullysaran and Cross IIs will do battle the same evening in Clady.

A double header on Saturday in Crossmaglen kicks off with Shane O’Neill’s meeting Whitecross. Culloville will take on Keady in the second of the double bill.

On Sunday (4th) Ballyhegan and Collegeland meet in An Port Mor. St Paul’s take on Clonmore in Wolfe Tones.

Also on Sunday St Peter’s take on Annaghmore in the Athletic Grounds before Forkhill meet Belleek in the same venue.

Junior Championship

There are four preliminary rounds in the JFC with Clady and Middletown kicking off the campaign in Keady on Friday 26 August.

Derrynoose and St Michael’s will be the first of a double header with Madden vs Grange in the Athletic Grounds.

Lissummon take on Killeavy IIs on the Sunday in Silverbridge while Madden will host the meeting of O’Hanlon’s v An Port Mor.

Thomas Davis, Dorsey, Mullabrack and Eire Og await the winners of the preliminary rounds.

Hurling Championship

The Hurling championships will be run off on a round robin bases. Each group has five teams and the top four will qualify for the quarterfinals.

Current Senior champions Middletown have a bye in the first round and get their campaign up and running against Cuchulainns in round two.

Craobh Rua, the 2021 Armagh and Ulster champions, take the step up to Senior action this season.

It’s the same format for the Junior championship. Keady II, Killeavy, St Malachy’s, Cuchulainns II and Sean Treacy’s will battle it out for the top prize.