Senior Championship Match Reports – Quarter Final

Granemore 1-9 Mullaghbawn 0-8

Granemore booked their spot in the last four of the Senior Championship in the only game of the weekend that finished inside 60 minutes.

Niall McAleenan’s men deserved their four-point victory and they’ll now face Killeavy in the semi finals of the championship.

A goal was always going to be a massive score in this encounter, and it was Granemore who got it.

Karl McQuaid’s punched effort ricocheted towards the goal and Kieran Doyle got the final touch to guide it over the line.

Photo Credit: John Merry

Playing against the breeze, Mullaghbawn held a slender one-point lead at the end of a low scoring first half. 0-4 to 0-3.

Two long range Marty Carr points got Granemore’s noses in front while the goal made all the difference.

Eoghan McDonnell battled hard for Mullaghbawn, but it wasn’t enough for them to remain in contention.

Granemore Scorers: Jason O’Neill 0-4 (3f), Kieran Doyle 1-0, Marty Carr 0-2, Odhran Doyle 0-2, Karl McQuaid 0-1.

Mullaghbawn Scorers: Eddie English 0-4 (3f), Eoghan McDonnell 0-2, Kieran Grant 0-1, Shea Loye 0-1.

Photo Credit: John Merry

Maghery 0-15 Ballymacnab 0-14

It took extra time to decide a winner between Maghery and Ballymacnab. In the end it was Stefan Forker who claimed the all-important score and sent Ballymacnab out of the championship.

Kieran Hughes and Jack Grugan hit long range scores to give the Nab a 6-4 advantage at the interval.

The Nab looked the most likely winners in normal when they held a three-point lead, but Maghery pulled them back in.

Photo Credit: Richiespics

The last three points in normal time came from Maghery and confirmed an extra 20 minutes was required.

Late scores from the Forker brothers Aidan and Stefan along with Gerard Campbell brought the game to extra time.

The sides remained tied at half time. Stefan Forker fired over the last score of the night to send the Loughshore men through.

Maghery Scorers: Stefan Forker 0-4 (3f), Oisin Cushnahan 0-4 (3f), Kevin Robinson 0-3 (2f), Aidan Forker 0-2, Stephen Cusack 0-1, Gerard Campbell 0-1.

Ballymacnab Scorers: Rory Grugan 0-6 (6f), Kieran Hughes 0-4, Jack Grugan 0-2, Oisin McGivern 0-1, Gavin McParland 0-1.

Photo Credit: Richiespics

Killeavy 2-11 Clan na Gael 0-16

Clan na Gael will look back on this game with huge regrets as they were arguably the better team on the day.

0-9 from the boot of Shane McPartland ensured they led for the majority of the game, but the goals proved crucial.

Niall Magennis slipped home the first major to tie the game at the half time break. Killeavy 1-5 Clan na Gael 0-8.

The sides were evenly matched on the scoreboard in the second half and again the goal made the difference.

Photo Credit: John Merry

It was Paul Quinn who bundled home the second three-pointer to see the game finish 2-9 to 0-15.

Clans led at half time in extra time with a McPartland free, but scores from Magennis and James Donnelly saw Killeavy through to the last four of the championship.

Clan na Gael Scorers: Shane McPartland 0-9 (6f), Stefan Campbell 0-3, Diarmaid Loney 0-2, Niall McCann 0-1 (1m), Matthew Lennon 0-1.

Killeavy Scorers: Niall Magennis 1-1, Paul Quinn 1-0, Callum O’Hare 0-2, Sean Boylan 0-2, Cathal Boylan 0-1, Ciaron Cosgrove 0-1, Conor O’Neill 0-1 (1f), Caolan McConville 0-1, Cathair McKinney 0-1, James Donnelly 0-1 (1f).

Photo Credit: John Merry

Crossmaglen 1-15 Dromintee 1-5

Crossmaglen pulled away in extra time of this quarter final clash and finally shock off the attentions of Dromintee.

Cathal McKenna’s first half goal gave Dromintee a slight 1-1 to 0-2 lead as the short whistle sounded.

Two points from Rian O’Neill got Cross, who were reduced to 14 players, back on level terms.

Photo Credit: Richiespics

Jamie Clarke gave the Rangers a two-point lead with five minutes to play before Oran Loughran (free) narrowed the gap.

Jack McArdle proved the hero for Dromintee with his late score dragging the game into extra time.

That was as good as it got for Dromintee as Stephen Kernan’s men took over in the additional 20 minutes to make their way to the last four.

Crossmaglen Scorers: Rian O’Neill 0-4 (3f), Daniel Cumiskey 1-1, Cian McConville 0-3 (1f), Stephen Morris 0-2 (1f), Ronan Fitzpatrick 0-2, Jamie Clarke 0-2, Chris Crowley 0-1.

Dromintee Scorers: Cathal McKenna 1-0, Jack McArdle 0-2, Darren McKenna 0-1, Ryan Hughes 0-1, Oran Loughran 0-1 (1f).