Sean Treacy’s secure Junior title

Sean Treacy’s 0-11 Keady II 1-5

Sean Treacy’s picked up the Junior Hurling championship title yesterday afternoon with a three-point win over Keady.

The Lurgan lads led from start to finish and done the majority of the damage inside the opening 30 minutes.

A goal ten minutes into the game from Keady kept them going, although that was their only score of the first half.

Caolan McCann in the Sean Treacy’s goal made some superb stops. He ended up with the man of the match award.

Corner forward Anthony Carville kicked off the scoring for Sean Treacy’s with a point inside the first minute.

The whole half forward line of Tam McKavanagh, Kane Laverty and Raymond Daly all chipped in with scores. That saw the eventual winners go 4-0 ahead.

A long ball into the square from Keady centre half back Ryan Donnelly looked to have been cleared off the goal line.

But the umpire reached for the green flag and awarded Keady the three-pointer which got them back into the game.

Sean Treacy’s finished the half strongly however with another four points to the trot to extend their lead.

Danny Magee got his name on the scoresheet with three points while McKavanagh chipped in with his second. 0-8 to 1-0 at the interval.

Sean Treacy’s only recorded three points after the turnaround as Keady began to get back into contention.

Ruairi Fullerton traded scores with Reece Magee at the start of the second half before Donnelly raised a white flag.

Paul Breen and Danny Magee exchanged dead ball efforts while scores from Caolan Mone and Breen narrowed the gap to two.

Danny Magee added a final score, his 5th to ensure Sean Treacy’s were crowned Junior Hurling champions.

Sean Treacy’s Scorers: Danny Magee 0-5 (3f), Tam McKavanagh 0-2, Kane Laverty 0-1, Raymond Daly 0-1, Anthony Carville 0-1, Reece Magee 0-1.

Keady Scorers: Ryan Donnelly 1-1, Paul Breen 0-2 (2f), Ruairi Fullerton 0-1, Caolan Mone 0-1.