Clann Eireann ladies land championship title

Clann Eireann 1-12 Carrickcruppen 1-8

Clann Eireann maintained their unbeaten run to end the season with championship gold as they defeated Carrickcruppen by four points.

A late Caroline O’Hanlon goal from a penalty force the game to a replay, but Clann Eireann made no mistake this time around.

The sides, like the first day out, were evenly matched on the scoreboard for the majority of the decider.

Only two points separated the teams when the half time whistle sounded, and both netted after the turnaround.

Carrickcruppen made the brighter start and shot into an early two-point lead inside the opening couple of minutes.

O’Hanlon and midfielder Caitlin Malone got the underdogs up and running before Clann Eireann replied.

James Daly’s ladies chipped in with a brace of their own through Megan McCann and Niamh Henderson to tie the game.

Aoibhinn Henderson nudged the eventual winners ahead but two in a row from O’Hanlon, along with a Megan Cinnamond score restored Cruppen’s two-point advantage.

Photo Credit: Armagh LGFA

Aoibhinn Henderson split the posts with two more scores to level the game up before Clann Eireann pushed ahead.

Niamh Murray and Niamh Henderson claimed the last two scores of the half. Clann Eireann ahead 7-5 at the break.

The Lurgan ladies dominated the early exchanges after the half time interval and drove six points ahead.

Murray and Cinnamond traded scores before Megan McCann grabbed her second. Niamh Henderson then claimed the opening goal of the day to make it 1-9 to 0-6.

But Cruppen replied emphatically with a three-pointer of their own coming through midfielder Rhia McCullough.

Niamh Henderson traded scores with Caitriona O’Hagan while Tiarnan Grimes did likewise with Sinead Finnegan.

Niamh Murray slotted over her third and final point to seal the deal for Clann Eireann. They now meet Donaghmoyne in the first round of Ulster this weekend.

Clann Eireann Scorers: Niamh Henderson 1-3, Niamh Murray 0-3, Aoibhinn Henderson 0-3, Megan McCann 0-2, Tiarna Grimes 0-1.

Carrickcruppen Scorers: Caroline O’Hanlon 0-3, Rhia McCullough 1-0, Megan Cinnamond 0-2, Caitlin Malone 0-1, Caitriona O’Hagan 0-1, Sinead Finnegan 0-1.