Sean Treacy’s crash out of Ulster Championship

Sean Treacy’s 0-12 Shane O’Neill’s 1-20

Sean Treacy’s were knocked out of the Ulster Junior Hurling Championship at the hands of Antrim champions Shane O’Neill’s.

Kevin O’Boyle’s 39th minute goal was the vital score and dented Sean Treacy’s hopes of a second half comeback.

The Lurgan side gave their all, but Shane O’Neill’s were the team on top for the majority of the game.

The Saffron champions, who easily saw off Carrickmacross in round one, led by double scores at the break.

Michael Doran in action for Sean Treacy's
Photo Credit: Richiespics

Darren Hamill and Danny Magee, who struck a hattrick against Cootehill Celtic last weekend, traded scores.

O’Boyle, Ciaran Magill and Sean O’Boyle all raised white flags to put Shane O’Neill’s three points to the good.

Magee, Sean Treacy’s main scorer on the day, closed the gap but saw his effort cancelled out by Sean O’Boyle.

Hamill, Sean O’Boyle, Magill all split the posts for the Saffron side to go ahead by six points, 0-8 to 0-2.

Danny Magee in action for Sean Treacy's
Photo Credit: Richiespics

Magee (4) matched scores from Hamill (2), Niall McGarel and Kevin O’Boyle to bring the half to a close. 0-12 to 0-6 to Shane O’Neill’s at half time.

Sean Treacy’s came clawing back into contention at the start of the second half before O’Boyle’s three-pointer halted their revival.

Magee swung over his 7th and 8th before Kane Laverty became his sides second scorer and narrowed the gap to three.

O’Boyle stemmed the Sean Treacy’s scoring spree with a point before rattling home the game’s only goal.

Kane Laverty in action for Sean Treacy's
Photo Credit: Richiespics

Magee traded scores with McGarel and Hamill while Tiarnan McKavanagh did likewise with the Shane O’Neill’s captain.

Four points on the trot from Shane O’Neill’s widened the margin to 11-points and the game was gone from Sean Treacy’s grasp.

Sean Treacy’s Scorers: Danny Magee 0-10 (7f), Tiarnan McKavanagh 0-1, Kane Lavery 0-1.

Shane O’Neill’s Scorers: Ronan Hamill 0-7 (5f), Kevin O’Boyle 1-4, Niall McGarel 0-4, Sean O’Boyle 0-3, Ciaran Magill 0-2.