St Patrick’s downed by Dungannon

St Patrick’s 2-10 Dungannon Academy 2-14

St Patrick’s Armagh lost out to Dungannon Academy in the second round of the MacRory Cup with four points the difference.

It was a tight and tense affair played in Clonmore with both sides battling it out right to the very end.

Seven down at the break, Armagh battled back in the second period but just couldn’t do enough to get back on level terms.

Dungannon made better use of their scoring chances in the opening period to lead 1-9 to 1-2 at the halfway stage.

James O’Hara opened the scoring for St Pat’s, but Dungannon replied to equalise through Ronan Cassidy (free).

Photo Credit: Sinead Snaps

Further scores from Dillion O’Neill and Cassidy (2) stretched their lead to three before Padraig O’Keefe doubled Armagh’s tally.

Dungannon hit 1-4 on the trot and had a goal disallowed as they dominated the scoreboard in the second quarter.

Sean Hughes rattled the net just before the break, but St Patrick’s responded with their own three-pointer.

Full forward Calum Hughes latched on to a loose ball and burst through on goal. The Pearse Og clubman buried the ball to the net to close the margin at the interval.

Second Half

The sides traded scores at the start of the second half before St Patrick’s hit the net for a second time.

Hughes fired a rocket to the top corner to close the gap to four ten minutes after the turnaround.

But Dungannon shot right back and midfielder Sheehan Fay punched home a goal after Sean Hughes’ shot dropped short.

Photo Credit: Diarmuid McGurk

Some super scores from James Conlon (2), Tiarnan McDonald and Tadhg Grimley, as well as a brilliant save from Ryan McAlary kept Armagh in touch.

Hughes and O’Keefe tagged on the last two scores of the game as St Patrick’s fought hard for a vital three-pointer.

It wasn’t to be, however. The Academy held on to win by four points and hand St Pat’s a second straight defeat.

St Patrick’s: Ryan McAlary, Caolan Muldoon, Ryan Nugent, Paul Hendron, Tiarnan McDonald 0-1, James Conlon 0-2, Ronan O’Hanlon, Tadhg Grimley 0-1, Patrick McKee, Ben Conroy 0-1, Padraig O’Keefe 0-2 (1f), James O’Hara 0-1, John Joe Hughes 0-1 (1f), Calum Hughes 2-1, Michael McSorley. Subs: Niall Dale for C. Muldoon, Oran Callaghan for P. McKee, Turlough Muldoon for JJ. Hughes, Ryan McGahan for P. Hendron.