Burns elected President of the GAA

Jarlath Burns has been elected as the new President of the GAA at Friday nights annual congress in Croke Park.

Burns will take over from the outgoing president Larry McCarthy when his three-year term ends in 2024.

The Silverbridge man saw off competition from Niall Erskine (Donegal) and Pat Teehan (Offaly), the other candidates in the running.

The former Armagh midfielder earns the honour at the second time of asking. He just missed out to McCarthy three years ago.

Burns was an inspirational figure on the playing field for the Orchard County during the lean years of the 1990’s.

He captained Armagh to the Ulster title in 1999, when they defeated Down, 3-12 to 0-10, in the final. That ended a 17-year wait for the Anglo Celt.

That kickstarted the glory years of the noughties when Armagh eventually went on to win the Sam Maguire in 2002.

Burns had stepped away at that point, retiring at the end of 1999 season, but laid a lot of the groundwork that led to Armagh’s success.

Photo Credit: John Merry

He wore the orange and white jersey for 12 years, making his debut in 1987, and had numerous roles off the field after retirement.

Burns held various positions at club, county, provincial and national level and made a career in the media as well.

Tonight, Burns became only the second Armagh man to hold the President of the GAA title, and only the eighth Ulsterman.

Alf Murray of the Clann Eireann club held the position 60 years ago, leading the organization between 1964-1967.