Galvin’s goals send Armagh to semis

Armagh 3-17 Fermanagh 3-16

Three second half goals from Tomas Galvin (2) and Danny Magee saw Armagh past Fermanagh to reach the Division 3A league semi-final.

They’ll take on Monaghan next weekend, with the winner of that clash faces Roscommon in the league decider.

It was far from comfortable however, as Fermanagh claimed two late goals through Luca McCusker and John Paul McGarry. But it wasn’t enough to save them from relegation to Division 3B.

With the aid of a big breeze, the visitors powered to a six-point lead at the half time break. That was down mostly to the accuracy of McCusker and Sean Corrigan.

Photo Credit: Richiespics

The sides were fairly evenly match during the opening exchanges. Armagh found themselves one point ahead when Fermanagh claimed the first goal of the day.

A pinpoint, defence splitting pass from Caolan Duffy found the on running Corrigan, who calmly slotted the ball into the corner of the Armagh net.

From there, Joe Baldwin’s men hurled with confidence and followed it up with six of the next seven scores. Armagh’s Fionntan Donnelly briefly breaking the scoring spree.

Donnelly chipped over the final point of the first half, from a free, to reduce the half time margin to six points.

Photo Credit: Richiespics

Tomas Galvin turned on the charm after the turnaround and rattled off 2-3 inside 15 minutes to power Armagh into a commanding lead.

Magee followed it up with another three-pointer and Armagh looked home and hosed. But Fermanagh’s fighting spirit led to a nervy last few minutes for the Orchard County.

Quickfire goals closed the gap, but a draw was no good to Fermanagh, they needed a win to remain in the division, and couldn’t find a game winning score.

Armagh: Fintan Woods, Niall Lennon, Odhran Curry, Oisin O’Hare, Stefan McParland, Tiarnan Nevin, Paudie Lappin, Peadar McBride, Connor Renaghan 0-2, Shea Harvey 0-1, Cormac Jennings 0-1, Stephen O’Keefe, Danny Magee 1-0, Tomas Galvin 2-3, Fionntan Donnelly 0-10 (7f). Subs: Paddy Garvey for D. Magee, Odhran McCann for P. McBride.