Division 1B – Meet the managers

Only two Division 1B teams have kept the same management team in place from last season, with six sides now having new men in the hotseat.

Clan na Gael: Ronan McMahon

Clan na Gael have been earmarked as a team to watch with a host of youngsters coming through their ranks.

Diarmaid Marsden guided the Clans to an IFC in 2020 and they kept their senior status last year.

Former Ballymacnab coach Ronan McMahon has taking over the reins and they’ll be hopeful of promotion.

Dromintee: Kieran Quinn

Culloville native Kieran Quinn has taken over at Dromintee, replacing the outgoing John Kennedy.

Kennedy was in charge when Dromintee won the Division 1A title in 2021 but suffered relegation last year.

Quinn was over Louth club St Mochtas for the past few years. He guided them to an IFC title in 2018 and a SFC appearance in 2021.

Grange: Chris Rafferty

Former Pearse Og midfielder Chris Rafferty will take his first plunge into management this season.

Rafferty, a SFC winner with the Ogs in 2009, is part of the Armagh minor management team under Brendan Hughes.

He replaces Ronan McAlinden who was in charge of Grange in 2022 and stepped down after one year.

Maghery: Eamon Robinson

Maghery clubman Eamon Robinson has taken over the reins, replacing Gabhan Wylie who was in charge for one season.

The Loughshore men reached the last four of the championship in 2022 but lost out heavily to Crossmaglen.

They finished second from bottom in Division 1A last year and promotion back to the top tier will be their objective.

Sarsfields: Brendan Hughes

Hughes is back for a second season in charge of Sarsfields and remains the Armagh minor manager.

Sarsfields will once again hope to be in the promotion shake up in Division 1B as they were last year.

In the championship, they lost out to Dromintee in the opening round by eight points, 3-8 to 1-6.

Only two Division 1B have kept the same management team in place from last season, with six sides now having new men in the hotseat.
Photo Credit: CP McMahon

Shane O’Neill’s: Patrick Gregory

Gregory brought Shane O’Neill’s to the promised land last season, guiding them to the IFC title.

Their prize is promotion to the top tier and Gregory will be keen to retain their status as a Senior club.

They come up having achieved the double last season, winning both the Division 2A league title and the IFC.

Silverbridge: Colm Nally

Former Meath coach Colm Nally joins Silverbridge this season, taking over from Kevin Franklin.

Nally worked alongside Andy McEntee in the Royal County and helped Meath reach back-to-back Leinster finals, losing to Dublin twice in 2019 and 2020.

The Louth native joined Cooley Kickhams midway through last season and guided them to their first IFC title in 32 years.

St Peter’s: Frank Fitzsimons

Former Antrim manager Frank Fitzsimons takes over from Davy Wilson at the St Peter’s club.

Fitzsimons ended his Saffron tenure in 2017 before taking St Enda’s to the All-Ireland Intermediate final two years later.

St Peter’s earned promotion to Division 2B last season, finishing second in the league behind Shane O’Neill’s.

Photo Credit: Chris Totton