Armagh u20 team news

Barry O’Hagan has named his Armagh u-20 side to face Monaghan this evening in the opening round of the Ulster Championship.

Armagh are coming into the game off the back of a successful league campaign where they won the Philly McGuinness Cup.

But it’s all about championship now and they take on the Farney men in Castleblayney at 7.30pm.

Armagh are minus a few star names due to injury, but have still put together a strong looking line up.

Starting team

Mullaghbawn netminder Patrick McAteer started between the sticks. He’s currently part of Kieran McGeeney’s senior squad.

Gareth Murphy had a superb club championship campaign with Killeavy last season, and he slots in a full back.

2022 College All-Star Emmet Magee picks up one of the corner back spots, with Cathal Agnew in the other.

Brendan O’Hagan commands the centre of the defence, with Callum O’Neill and Fergal O’Brien either side.

Photo Credit: Sinead Snaps

Both O’Neill and O’Brien are attack minded wing half backs and always offer a scoring threat coming forward.

Tadgh Grimley and Patrick Carr form a solid midfield partnership. Both men started in midfield through all the league games.

Darragh McMullen, who has recently returned from injury, and Antoin McParland, are on the flanks.

Aaron O’Neill, who hit two goals against Monaghan in the league, starts the game at centre half forward.

Photo Credit: Sinead Snaps

In the full forward line, Oisin Conaty starts with number 14 on his back. Conaty appeared against Cavan in the McKenna Cup and rattled the net after being introduced.

Ruairi O’Brien, the man of the match in last years Intermediate Championship final is in one corner.

And in the other is Armagh’s versatile captain Sean Conlon, who has the ability to line out anywhere on the field.

Armagh are minus a number of key men through injury. 2022 Club All-Star and joint vice-captain Thomas Og Duffy once again misses out.

Caolan Finnegan picked up a shoulder injury in the final round of the league and won’t be fit to start. James O’Hara and Odhran Carragher also look set to miss out.

Full squad list available here