Armagh minors hit Mayo for six

Armagh 6-20 Mayo 0-8

The Armagh minors hit six goals to comfortably see off Mayo and secure their second win of the All-Ireland series.

Armagh overcame Wicklow in the opening round, and this win puts them second in the table, behind Kerry, although the Orchard do have a game in hand.

From the start this was a one-sided affair as Armagh burst out of the traps to hit 3-7 inside the opening quarter.

With the aid of the elements, Armagh carried a huge 30-point advantage into the second period.

Caitlin Byrne got the ball rolling inside 40 seconds with the first point before hitting the net just seconds later.

Rose Boden traded scores with Mayo while Naoise Hughes fired over her first. Kellie Shields stretched the lead following good play from Aoife Byrne and Grace Fitzpatrick.

Shields added another straight from the puckout while Catriona McArdle did likewise with the next restart.

Boden set up Shields for another score while Mayo registered their second of the day. It did little to halt Armagh’s momentum as Hughes rattled off a quick fire 1-2.

Fitzpatrick chipped in with three in a row, before setting up Boden for Armagh’ third goal of the game.

Photo Credit: John Merry

Armagh finished the half with a flurry through O’Hare, Fitzpatrick, Caitlin Byrne and Hughes to lead 5-18 to 0-3 at half time.

 After the turnaround, Armagh only registered another 1-2, but had done enough in the first half to secure the win.

Etain Devlin and Aoife Byrne slotted over points while Emma Rice fired over the sixth and final goal of the game.

Next up is a top of the table clash as Armagh travel south to take on Kerry in round three of the All-Ireland series.

Armagh: Sarah Connolly, Meabh Crilly, Aoife Byrne 0-1, Lucie Loughran, Catriona McArdle 0-1, Kelley Mae Rafferty, Erin Murphy, Grace Fitzpatrick 0-4, Kellie Shields 1-2, Ella Haughey, Rebecca Grew, Naoise Hughes 1-6, Rose Boden 1-1, Caitlin Byrne 1-2, Claire O’Hare 1-1. Subs Used: Etain Devlin 0-1, Sophie Califf, Meabh Quinn, Lucy Gribben, Emma Rice 0-1, Eimear Boyd, Caodhla Trainor, Aine Gribben.

Photo Credit: John Merry