Derry overcome Armagh in last four

Armagh 2-7 Derry 0-17

Armagh crashed out of the McKenna Cup at the hands of Derry, with Mickey Harte’s men advancing to the final.

Oisin O’Neil put the hosts one ahead on the 18th minute, but Derry hit the last five scores to earn a four-point win.

Conor Doherty opened the scoring for Derry when he burst through the Armagh defence and slotted over.

All-Star Shane McGuigan doubled the lead before Blaine Hughes came to Armagh’s rescue with a super save.

Derry broke forward at impressive pace after a turnover and corner back Diarmuid Baker was through on goal.

Hughes got down on the boot of the shooters quickly to keep the Orchard County in contention.

Cormac Murphy pushed Derry further in front before Armagh opened their account. Sean Conlon landed a mark after a great cross field ball from Ciaron O’Hanlon.

Dan Higgins and Oisin O’Neill (free) traded scores as Armagh really began to find their groove.

Justin Kieran chipped in with a fantastic score while Ben Crealey, who made a brilliant block earlier on, levelled things up.

Armagh then stormed ahead when Crealey tapped Oisin O’Neill’s dropping effort towards Conlon and the Silverbridge man expertly tucked the ball into the bottom corner.

Derry fought back with Man of the Match Shane McGuigan knocking over three in a row to tie things up, 1-4 to 0-7 at half time.

McGuigan knocked over two scores at the start of the second half before Armagh raised another green flag.

Armagh crashed out of the McKenna Cup at the hands of Derry, with Mickey Harte’s men advancing to the final.

Cian McConville’s shot was initially saved by Odhran Lynch, but Crealey was on hand to punch to the net.

McGuigan and Padraig McGrogan pulled two back for Derry before O’Neill fisted over a levelling score.

A second outstanding save from Armagh keeper Hughes denied Derry a goal as McGuigan and O’Neill exchanged frees.

Derry finished with a flurry through scores from Padraig Cassidy, Cormac Murphy, McGuigan (2) and Eoin McEvoy to win by four.

Armagh: Blaine Hughes, Tomas McCormack, Ciaran Higgins, Sean Conlon 1-2, Connaire Mackin, Niall Rowland, Mark Shields, Ben Crealey 1-1, Callum O’Neill, Ciaron O’Hanlon, Joe Sheridan, Justin Kieran 0-1, Cian McConville, Oisin O’Neill 0-3 (2f), Darragh McMullan. Subs: Jarly Og Burns for J. Sheridan, Daniel Magee for S. Conlon, Michael McConville for B. Crealey.

Derry: Odhran Lynch, Diarmuid Baker, Eoin McEvoy 0-1, Chrissy McKaigue, Conor Doherty 0-1, Gareth McKinless, Padraig McGrogan 0-1, Dan Higgins 0-1, Brendan Rogers, Donncha Gilmore, Declan Cassidy, Paul Cassidy, Ben McCarron, Shane McGuigan 0-10 (8f), Cormac Murphy 0-1. Subs: Niall Toner for D. Cassidy, Niall Loughlin for B. McCarron, Ruairi Forbes for D. Higgins, Niall O’Donnell for C. Murphy.