Armagh retain unbeaten run with Donegal draw

Armagh 1-9 Donegal 0-12

It finished all square in the BOX-IT Athletic Grounds as Armagh and Donegal played out a draw in an intense affair.

Armagh looked to have stolen it with Rian O’Neill’s late score, but Donegal replied through Shane O’Donnell.

Jarly Og Burns had a chance for a winner, but his fisted effort just dropped short moments before the final whistle sounded.

The draw was perhaps the fair result, and both sides will be pleased to keep their unbeaten runs intact.

It was a mistake-ridden first few minutes before Donegal opened the scoring through Peadar Mogan.

Michael Langan, set up by his midfield partner Ciaran Thompson, doubled the Donegal while Conor O’Neill got Armagh up and running.

Donegal skipper Paddy McBrearty swapped scores with O’Neill before Ciaran Mackin fired a pass over the top of the Donegal defence to find Andrew Murnin free.

The St Paul’s sharpshooter didn’t need a second invitation and he powered the ball into the back of the net.

Aidan Forker and Rory Grugan raised white flags, either side of an Oisin Gallen mark. Conaty got his first of the day before McBrearty replied at the other end of the field.

McBrearty pointed another before Thompson blasted a half goal chance over the bar. That left one the difference at the break, with Armagh ahead 1-5 to 0-7.

Donegal bumped ahead at the start of the second half with McBrearty (free) and Gallen (mark) pointing.

It finished all square in the BOX-IT Athletic Grounds as Armagh and Donegal played out a draw in an intense affair.
Photo Credit: Richiespics

A superb diving blocked by Turbitt denied Donegal a goal, although they did grow their lead through another Gallen free.

Joe McElroy swung over Armagh’s first score in 23 minutes while Grugan showed a bit of class to skip through the Donegal defence and slice over a score.

Murnin and Gallen raised white flags and Donegal had another opportunity to produce a green flag with a penalty.

Jarly Og Burns upended Langan but Blaine Hughes pulled off a wonderful save to deny Gallen from the spot.

Armagh: Blaine Hughes, Paddy Burns, Aaron McKay, Peter McGrane, Greg McCabe, Aidan Forker 0-1, Ciaran Mackin, Connaire Mackin, Conor O’Neill 0-2, Andrew Murnin 1-1, Rory Grugan 0-2, Joe McElroy 0-1, Cian McConville, Conor Turbitt, Oisin Conaty 0-1. Subs: Jason Duffy for C. McConville, Jarly Og Burns for Connaire Mackin, Rian O’Neill 0-1 for A. Forker, Stefan Campbell for C. Turbitt, Jemar Hall for C. O’Neill.

Donegal: Shaun Patton, Mark Curran, Brendan McCole, Stephen McMenamin, Ryan McHugh, Caolan McGonagle, Daire O’Baoill, Ciaran Thompson 0-1, Michael Langan 0-1, Peadar Mogan 0-1, Ciaran Moore, Odhran Doherty, Paddy McBrearty 0-4 (2f), Oisin Gallen 0-4 (4f), Hugh McFadden. Subs: Shane O’Donnell 0-1 for H. McFadden, Jeaic Mac Ceallabhui for O. Doherty, Jamie Brennan for D. O’Baoill