Duffy score dumps Down out of championship

Armagh 0-13 Down 2-6

Armagh qualified for the Ulster Championship final after a titanic tussle with old rivals Down that went all the way.

It was a late score from Jason Duffy that sealed the deal but Armagh certainly didn’t have it all their own way.

Ryan Magill got the game up and running after three minutes after a prolonged period of possession from Down.

Odhran Murdock set up the Sigerson Cup winner for the games first score, and they were hard to come by in the first half.

Two Rian O’Neill points gave Armagh the lead before Aidan Forker chipped in with a super, individual score.

Pat Havern, having missed his first three frees, made it fourth time lucky from the dead ball on 32 minutes.

The Mourne men then stole ahead with a quick counterattack ending in the first goal of the contest.

Pierce Laverty played in Ceilum Doherty who’s shot was saved by Blaine Hughes, but the ball bounced off Paddy Burns and ended up in the net.

Armagh responded brilliantly however with two points in quick success. Rory Grugan (free) and Forker raised white flags to leave the score 1-2 to 0-5 at the interval.

Grugan (free) and O’Neill put Armagh two up but Down pulled two back through Daniel Guinness and Danny Magill.

Grugan put Armagh in front but then Down shot ahead again when Ryan Magill shot home another goal.

Ryan Johnston and Havern swapped scores with Grugan while scores from Oisin O’Neill and Aidan Nugent levelled things up.

The opportunity to win the game fell to Jason Duffy and the Cullyhanna man made no mistake with a great point.

Armagh: Blaine Hughes, Paddy Burns, Aaron McKay, Peter McGrane, Joe McElroy, Ciaran Mackin, Aidan Forker 0-2, Rian O’Neill 0-3 (1f), Ben Crealey, Stefan Campbell, Rory Grugan 0-4 (4f), Oisin Conaty, Conor Turbitt, Andrew Murnin, Jarly Og Burns. Subs: Jason Duffy 0-1 for B. Crealey, Oisin O’Neill 0-1 for J. Burns, Darragh McMullen for S. Campbell, Aidan Nugent 0-1 for O. Conaty.

Down: John O’Hare, Peter Fegan, Ryan McEvoy, Ceilum Doherty 1-0, Miceal Rooney, Pierce Laverty, Shealan Johnston, Jonny Flynn, Odhran Murdock, Daniel Guiness 0-1, Ryan Magill 1-1, Ryan Johnston 0-1, Finn McElory, Pat Havern 0-2 (2f), James Guiness. Subs: Liam Kerr for J. Guinness, Danny Magill 0-1 for J. Flynn, Barry O’Hagan for M. Rooney, Oisin Savage for P. Havern, Shane Annett for B. O’Hagan.