u14 ladies suffer devastating Derry defeat
Armagh 2-10 Derry 2-12

Armagh suffered a heart-breaking defeat to Derry in the All-Ireland U14 Gold final at the BOX-IT Athletic Grounds. A late goal from the reigning champions stole the game from Armagh’s grasp.

The Orchard youngsters showed tremendous courage and character, coming from nine-points down at half time. They brought themselves right back into the game and led by the minimum late on.

Saorla Quinn got Derry off the mark before doubled up their advantage with a free from Cara Bennett. Armagh captain Abigail McMahon swung over two scores (one free), to level the game after 12 minutes.

The remainder of the half belonged to Derry, and they fired off 1-6 on the trot. Cassie Conway and Caoimhe Roche chipped in with points, while Bennett rattled off 1-4 to see her side ahead 1-8 to 0-2 at the break.

Armagh rallied after the turnaround and McMahon kicked off their revival with two scores in as many minutes. Aoife McConville, Armagh’s second scorer of the day, made it a six-point game with a score.

Bennett swept over another free to continue her excellent form in front of the posts, but Armagh came roaring back into contention with a fine goal from full forward Emma Toale.

Armagh suffered a heartbreaking defeat to Derry in the All-Ireland U14 Gold final at the BOX-IT Athletic Grounds.
Photo Credit: Richiespics

McMahon exchanged pointed efforts with Derry midfielder Cliodhna Moore before the Clann Eireann sharpshooter fired off 1-3 in a spell where Armagh hit 1-5. Caitlin Sheridan and Brianna Magee also got in on the scoring act.

That gave Armagh the lead for the very first time but Bennett knocked over her first point from play to make it a one-point game.

Bennett then produced the game winning score in the dying seconds and although Armagh won the kickout, they didn’t have enough time to reply at the other end.

Armagh: C Havern; T Crangle, A McCague, M Creaney; C Brennan, O Reynolds, N McKenna; B Magee 0-1, M McGurgan; A McConville 0-1, K Taylor, G Marsden; C O’Hanlon, E Toale 1-0, A McMahon 1-7 (4f). Rolling subs: C Sheridan 0-1, R Little, N Doherty, G Gallagher, A McDonnell, E McParland, L McLoughlin.

Derry: K Pachuta; K Birt, M Cleary, A McNally; E McVey, C Conway 0-1, F Kerr; C Moore 0-1, E Forbes; F Callaghan, S Quinn 0-1, G Doherty; A Musgrave, C Bennett 2-8 (6f), R Gribbin. Rolling subs: C Roche 0-1, E Rafferty, M Gray, C Quinn, C McPeake, I Tohill.