Armagh Ladies reach last four

Armagh 2-11 Mayo 0-11

Armagh qualified for the last four of the All-Ireland series with a home victory over Mayo on Sunday afternoon. The Orchard County were the better team on show throughout and deserving made the semi-finals.

A first half goal from Player of the Match Blaithin Mackin helped to put some breathing space between the teams. Armagh pulled further ahead after the turnaround with a second goal from Aoife McCoy.

The home sides defence was extremely impressive as well, with a number of bodies throwing their bodies on the line. Dearbhla Coleman, Roisin Mulligan and Caroline O’Hanlon made memorable blocks while Anna Carr guarded her goals brilliantly.

McCoy got the up and running after four minutes when she turned Mayo over in her own attack and slotted over a score. Eve Lavery, a late call-up to the Armagh starting team, doubled their lead with a free.

Mayo halved the margin when Lucy Wallace pointed with the aid of the posts, but Armagh burst further ahead. Niamh Henderson set up Blaithin Mackin, who rattled the ball into the back of the net.

Mackin then tapped over a free while Mayo midfielder Aoife Geraghty, split the posts. Henderson and Geraghty then swapped scores, while a superb save from Laura Brennan denied Lavery a goal.

Lavery did grow her own personal tally however and she chipped in with the final two-points of the first half. That left the Orchard County six-points to the good at the half time interval, 1-6 to 0-3.

Lauren McConville and Annie Gough exchanged points at the start of the second half before McCoy grabbed Armagh’s second goal. Henderson and Lisa Cafferty matched each other while Maria Cannon and Cafferty narrowed the gap.

Photo Credit: Richiespics

Mackin and Cannon raised white flags from frees before substitute Niamh Reel got her name on the scoresheet. Mackin added to her tally with another score, while Cafferky, Aoife Staunton and Cannon all split the posts.

It’s Kerry next for Gregory McGonigle’s side in a repeat of the Division One National League final. Armagh were victorious on that history day in Croke Park, and they’ll be hoping for another historic win.

Armagh: Anna Carr, Grace Ferguson, Clodagh McCambridge, Roisin Mulligan, Cait Towe, Lauren McConville 0-1, Dearbhla Coleman, Niamh Coleman, Caroline O’Hanlon, Emily Druse, Aoife McCoy 1-1, Meabh McCambridge, Blaithin Mackin 1-3 (2f), Niamh Henderson 0-2, Eve Lavery 0-3 (2f). Subs: Sarah Quigley for M. McCambridge, Niamh Reel 0-1 for E. Lavery, Louise Kenny for E. Druse.

Mayo: Laura Brennan, Saoirse Lally, Nicola O’Malley, Kathryn Sullivan, Ellis Ronayne, Ciara Durkan, Danielle Caldwell, Aoife Geraghty 0-2, Erin Murray, Lucy Wallace 0-1, Annie Gough 0-1, Sinead Cafferky, Sinead Walsh, Maria Cannon 0-3 (3f), Lisa Cafferty 0-3. Subs: Aoife Staunton 0-1 for E. Murray, Fionnuala McLaughlin for K. Sullivan, Fiona McHale for A Gough, Ciara Needham for C. Durkan, Maria Reilly for S. Cafferky.