Impressive Armagh destroy Derry

Derry 0-15 Armagh 3-17

Armagh impressively dismantled Derry in Celtic Park to pick up their second victory of the All-Ireland series.

First half goals from Ross McQuillan and Conor Turbitt put Armagh eight up at half time while Rian O’Neill added a three-pointer after the turnaround.

Armagh’s intensity and pace was levels above their opponents and they showed a ruthless streak in front of goals.

They could have rattled the net a few more times. Oisin Conaty blasted an effort off the bar in the first half while Barry McCambridge’s palmed effort went wide.

Derry opened the scoring as Conor Glass set up his Glen clubmate Emmet Bradley inside the first two minutes.

Rian O’Neill got Armagh up and running but his score was matched by a Glass mark at the other end.

Shane McGuigan and Conor Turbitt traded dead ball efforts before Rory Grugan levelled things up, 0-3 apiece.

Armagh then grabbed the games first goal, when Ross McQuillan finished a breakaway move with a major.

Padraig Cassidy pulled one back for Derry, but Armagh added a second goal as Turbitt eased the ball into the net.

Turbitt (free) and Tiernan Kelly split the uprights while Diarmuid Baker and Aidan Forker traded points.

McGuigan tapped over a free but Armagh finished the score for the half. Barry McCambridge and Turbitt but scored to see the orchard County ahead 2-8 to 0-6 at half time.

Derry hit the first three points of the second half with Glass, McGuigan (free) and Ethan Doherty all scoring.

Armagh impressively dismantled Derry in Celtic Park to pick up their second victory of the All-Ireland series.

The impressive Niall Grimley opened his account, while Armagh’s top scorer Turbitt traded efforts with Lachlan Murray.

McGuigan claimed another before Rian O’Neill slotted home Armagh’s third major. Ben Crealey, Oisin O’Neill and Tiernan Kelly all added points.

Substitute Ciaran McFaul received his marching orders shortly after coming on, while McGuigan pulled one back for the hosts.

Conaty and Glass cancelled each other out, while Shane McPartlan and Aidan Nugent did likewise with McGuigan.

Conaty added the final score of the game to give Kieran McGeeney’s side a huge 11-point victory.

Armagh: Blaine Hughes, Barry McCambridge 0-1, Aaron McKay, Peter McGrane, Joe McElroy, Connaire Mackin, Aidan Forker 0-1, Rian O’Neill 1-1, Ben Crealey 0-1 (1f), Stefan Campbell, Rory Grugan 0-1, Tiernan Kelly 0-2, Oisin Conaty 0-2, Niall Grimley 0-1, Conor Turbitt 1-5 (2f) Subs: Ross McQuillan 1-0 for P. McGrane (blood sub), Jason Duffy for S. Campbell, Oisin O’Neill 1-0 for R. O’Neill, Greg McCabe for A. Forker, Shane McPartlan 0-1 for B. Crealey, Aidan Nugent 0-1 (1f) for C. Turbitt, Darragh McMullen for C. Mackin.

Derry: Odhran Lynch, Conor McCluskey, Chrissy McKaigue, Diarmuid Baker 0-1, Conor Doherty, Donncha Gilmore, Emmet Bradley 0-1, Conor Glass 0-3 (1m), Brendan Rogers, Ethan Doherty 0-1, Eunan Mulholland, Paul Cassidy 0-1, Niall Toner, Shane McGuigan 0-7 (4f), Lachlan Murray 0-1. Subs: Ciaran McFaul for E. Bradley, Declan Cassidy for N. Toner.